INDEX 1745  GLOBAL MURALS  PRESTONPANS  ARTS FESTIVAL  GOTHENBURG FOWLERS..


Home

Origins & History

Heritage & Museum

Clan Court & Household

University Press

Regalia

Golfing Delights

Appointments

Court Records

Picture Gallery

Manor of Milton Malsor
Oceana
East Lodge Prestonpans
Laird of Glencairn

Barga
Shop Online

News & Email

Search
Site News

Clan Court & Household

The baronial records show that members of four great Clans have previously held title since the 16th Century. ( Before that date it was held by the Monks and Abbey of Newbattle. ) Each Clan has several of its own distinctive tartans for ordinary, hunting, dress and ancient together with some unrecognised by the Clan Chief. In the following sentences we have made illustrative links to one for each Clan.

The first holders after the Reformation were the Kerrs, followed by the Morrisons, and the Grants. Today's Barons were born into the Park Sept of Clan MacDonald, but in 1999 received their own Prestoungrange accredited tartan from the Scottish Tartans Society. This new tartan is available for use by all members of their direct families including the Baron of Dolphinstoun, and all members of the Prestoungrange and Dolphinstoun Households. The Barons have also authorised it to be worn by the global family Wills.

The Laird's Household consists of whomsoever he wishes to invite to join. The Members List is maintained by the Baron Sergeand and each is accorded the right to wear the Baronial Crest with strap and buckle and the kilt. The crest is taken from the Baron's Letters Patent granting Ensigns Armorial from the Lord Lyon in Edinburgh. On that document can also be seen the Baronial Badge with wings uplifted, which can also be used. (The Badge has two designs - for Wills and Dolphinstoun and for Prestoungrange).

The Household is the social and family dimension of the barony. On all occasions when it meets Glenkinchie Lowland malt whisky is served - the distillery at Pencaitland is close by the baronial lands and has been appointed sole distiller to the Barons. Other suppliers have been officially appointed.

The Baron Courts are the formal executive for the affairs of the barony. They lost their legal powers at the beginning of the 20th century, and feudal duties of vassal to superior were finally abolished along with feudal land tenure as the 5th Act of the re-established Scottish Parliament in May 2000.

In 2002 Baron Courts were also incorporated as a Scottish charity

In medieval times, The Baron Bailie presided at the Baron Court. Today's re-established Court has the Baron in the chair, with Lady Prestoungrange as his deputy. Administrative matters are the responsibility of the Bailie and operations the responsibility of the Sergeand. Financial matters are attended to by the Procurator Fiscal.

The Court meets bi-monthly and at least once each year with full regalia.

Today's Baron Court ( which because it is shared in common with the Baron of Dolphinstoun is formally known as "The Baron Courts of Prestoungrange & Dolphinstoun" ) conducts its affairs as a not-for-profit corporation with liabilities limited by the guarantees of its Officers. Records of all its meetings are kept together with annual audited accounts ( Password protected for Officers' and Household Members' use only ).

John & Jenny Unwin a la France utimestwo@gmail.com
Malcolm Watson of Prestonpans bandicootman@yahoo.com
Gordon, Much Honoured Baron of Prestoungrange baron@prestoungrange.org
Julian, Much Honoured Baron of Dolphinstoun julian@ljlifestyle.co.uk
Avril, Lady Prestoungrange prestoungrange@aol.com
Kathryn Wills of Prestoungrange krmwills@blueyonder.co.uk
Lorna Wills of Prestoungrange
Natasha Wills of Prestoungrange
Francesca Wills of Prestoungrange
Eleanor Wills
Florence Wills
Bryan and Joan Wills of Edmonton bryanwills@shaw.ca
Lesley A Wills of Victoria lesleyawills@cs.com
Stephen and Wendy Wills of Edmonton stephen.wills@gov.ab.ca
Pamela Hartwell of Oakham pamh070@yahoo.co.uk
Sylvia Burgess of Buckingham sylvia_sergeand@prestoungrange.org
Richard and Rachel Teare of Deddington rteare@globalnet.co.uk
Janet Chainey of St Peter Port jchainey@federaltrust.co.uk
Fredrick Tao of Hong Kong ftao@hkstar.com
Ben and Soo S'ng of Kuala Lumpur bensng@pop.jaring.my
Paul Colbert of Bedford
Jane Bonnar of Musselburgh JaneBonnar@aol.com
Karl Schutz of Chemainus karl@kschutz.com
John Wicks of The Sunshine Coast jwicks@ozemail.com.au
Anne Taylor of Haddington annetaylor@prestoungrange.org
Stephen Kerr of Tulsa, Oklahoma spendaries@aol.com
Annemarie Allan of Prestonpans annemarie-allan@prestoungrange.org
Andrew Crummy of Cockenzie andrew-crummy@prestoungrange.org
Kate Hunter of Edinburgh kathrynhunter22@hotmail.com
Jim and Helen Kable of Brisbane jckable@tpg.com.au
Hans Maurer of Auckland hmaurer@agrichain-centre.com
Amanda & Nicholas Healey of Oakham amandahealey@aol.com
Lindsay Davidson of Linlithgow courtcomposer@prestoungrange.org
Andrew Laurie of Prestonpans andrewlaurie@prestoungrange.org
Patricia James of Alice Springs patriciaj@hypermax.net.au
Mathew and April Boffin of Hawaii matthew@matthewboffin.com
Duncan Wills of Prestoungrange duncan@willsandco.fsnet.co.uk
Gregory and Cornelia Wills of Whitehorse gcwills@northwestel.net
Fiona Wills of Seattle fwills1000@yahoo.com
Carol Oliver of Brackley carololiver@compuserve.com
Craig Allan of Gullane craigallan@prestoungrange.org
John Lindsay - Poet Laureate of Prestoungrange
Mathew Wills Younger of Prestoungrange mjcwills@hotmail.com
John & Jenny Unwin of 'France' utimestwo@gmail.com
Dick & Yvonne Gerdzen of Barcelona dick@gerdzen.com
Laura, Lady of Dolphinstoun laura@ljlifestyle.co.uk
Lynn Drummond of Prestonpans lynndrummond@prestoungrange.org

Back to top
ugg pas cher bottes fourr¨Ĥes ugg ugg bottes